Madeleine L’Engle died on Thursday

l’engle 

Madeleine L’Engle, author of 60 books, died on Thursday, September 6, 2007.  For some reason I started reading her book A Wind in the Door last week, so this news hits a little closer than if I had not been reading anything by her.  One thing I love about L’Engle (and I’ve only read a few of her books) is that her stories imagine other worlds.  I had actually posted this quote by L’Engle on my other blog one day before she died:

“Many of us ask questions as we’re growing up, but we tend to let them go because there’s so much else to do.  I write the books I do because I’m still asking the questions…In each book the characters are living into the questions that we all have to live into.  Some of these questions don’t have finite answers, but the questions themselves are important.  Don’t stop asking, and don’t let anybody tell you the questions aren’t worth it.  They are.  Story always tells us more than the mere words, and that is why we love to write it, and to read it.”
     –Madeleine L’Engle, introduction to A Wind in the Door

Related

I wonder what dear Madeleine is doing right now:  Creating more stories for us?  Learning about life on other planets?  Who knows.  I’ll finish with these words, the last line in my favorite L’Engle book, A Circle of Quiet:

“The shadows are deepening all around us.  Now is the time when we must begin to see our world and ourselves in a different way.”

One comment

  1. I had the pleasure of caring for Madeleine in her final days. I work at the nursing home she was a resident of.

    She is, was, and will always be a darling lady, always a joy to be around, with a wonderful presence, even in her waning hours.

Leave a Reply

